COBB BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND REGISTRATION April 9, 2012 BOARD MEETING MINUTES

736 Whitlock Avenue 4:00 PM

Board Members Present Beverly Smith Joe Ransbotham Guy Drexinger Rob Garcia Board Members Absent Pat Gartland

Others Present: Janine Eveler, Gerry Miller, Beth Kish, Pam Burel, Brenda Jemison, Gregg Litchfield, Michael Jacobs, and Deane Bonner

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

Mr. Drexinger moved to approve the regular March 12, 2012 Board Meeting Minutes. Mr. Garcia SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. Ransbotham moved to approve the special called March 23, 2012 Board Meeting Minutes. Mr. Garcia SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section 21-2-228, a hearing was held by the Board of Elections and Registration to determine the eligibility to remain on the Electors List of 530 persons, a list of which is available to review in the Elections Office upon request. Prior legal notice for said hearing had been given to the named individuals and those individuals had failed to appear for the hearing. Therefore, based on the available evidence, the Board ruled that these voters are no longer qualified to be registered in Cobb County. Mr. Garcia moved to remove the names of those voters (530) whose qualifications to be registered have been challenged. Mr. Drexinger SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. Ransbotham moved to temporarily change the location of the polling place for **BIRNEY 02**, from Russell Elementary School, 3920 S. Hurt Road, Smyrna, GA, 30082 to C. Freeman Poole Senior Center, 4025 S. Hurt Road, Smyrna, GA, 30082 effective July 31, 2012 through August 21, 2012. Mr. Garcia SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. Ransbotham moved to temporarily change location of the polling place for **CLARKDALE 01**, from Luke Garrett Middle School, 5235 Austell-Powder Springs Road, Austell, GA 30106 to Cooper Middle School, 4605 Ewing Road, Austell, GA 30106. Mr. Garcia SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. Ransbotham moved to temporarily change location of the polling place for **HIGHTOWER 01**, from Hightower Trail Middle School, 3905 Post Oak Tritt Road, Marietta, GA 30062 to Pope High School, 3001 Hembree Road, Marietta, GA 30062. Mr. Garcia SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. Ransbotham moved to temporarily change location of the polling place for **SMYRNA 1A**, from Argyle Elementary School, 2420 Spring Road, Smyrna, GA 30080 to Smyrna Fire Station #3, 2825 Park Road, Smyrna, GA 30080. Mr. Garcia SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. Drexinger moved to conduct a Special Election on July 31st to fill a vacancy on the Marietta Board of Education (Ward 1) and direct the Chairman to sign the contract. Mr. Ransbotham SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

The Chairman set a special called meeting for April 23, 2012, at 8:00 am contingent upon the resignation of Van Pearlberg.

The Chairman set the next regular meeting for May 14, 2012, at 4:00 pm.

Public Comment – Deane Bonner spoke.

Mr. Drexinger moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:44 pm. Mr. Ransbotham SECONDED. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.