## COBB BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND REGISTRATION August 5, 2013 BOARD MEETING MINUTES

736 Whitlock Avenue 4:00 PM

Board Members Present
Joe Ransbotham
Guy Drexinger
Pat Gartland

Board Members Absent
Beverly Smith
Rob Garcia

Others Present: Phil Daniell, Fred Aiken, Joyette Holmes, Janine Eveler, Gerry Miller, Beth

Kish, Brenda Jemison, Pam Burel, Gregg Litchfield, Judge Kelli Wolk, Deane

Bonner, and Felecca Taylor

Secretary Gartland called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

Mr. Drexinger moved to approve the regular July 5, 2013 Board Meeting Minutes. Mr. Ransbotham SECONDED. APPROVED 3-0.

Mr. Ransbotham moved to authorize the following precinct changes:

- A boundary change to precinct Kennesaw 1A, Sardis Missionary Baptist Church, 2741 S.
   Main Street NW, Kennesaw GA 30144, by receiving a portion of voters from precinct Kennesaw 3A, Ben Robertson Community Center, 2753 Watts Drive, Kennesaw GA 30144.
- A boundary change to combine existing precinct Kennesaw 2A, Martha Moore Education Center, 6997 Keene Street, Kennesaw GA 30144 with Kennesaw 3A, Ben Robertson Community Center, 2753 Watts Drive, Kennesaw GA 30144. The combined precinct will be known as Kennesaw 3A. The existing precinct Kennesaw 2A, Martha Moore Education Center, will be dissolved.
- A boundary change to existing precinct Kennesaw 2B, Kennesaw Mountain High School, 1898 Kennesaw Due West Road, Kennesaw GA 30152 by giving a portion of voters to precinct Kennesaw 3A, Ben Robertson Community Center, 2753 Watts Drive, Kennesaw GA 30144. The newly configured Kennesaw 2B precinct will be renamed Kennesaw 2A.
- Boundary changes to precinct Kennesaw 3A, Ben Robertson Community Center, 2753 Watts Drive, Kennesaw GA 30144, by giving a portion of voters to precinct Kennesaw 1A, Sardis Missionary Baptist Church, 2741 S. Main Street NW, Kennesaw GA 30144; receiving all voters in existing Kennesaw 2A, Martha Moore Education Center, 6997 Keene Street, Kennesaw GA 30144; and receiving a portion of voters from existing Kennesaw 2B, Kennesaw Mountain High School, 1898 Kennesaw Due West Road, Kennesaw GA 30152.
- A boundary change to precinct Kennesaw 4A, Kennesaw Elementary School, 3155 Jiles Road, Kennesaw GA 30144 by receiving a portion of voters from existing precinct Kennesaw 5A, New Beginnings United Methodist Church, 2925 Mack Dobbs Road NW, Kennesaw GA 30152.

- A boundary change to existing precinct Kennesaw 5A, New Beginnings United Methodist Church, 2925 Mack Dobbs Road, NW, Kennesaw GA 30152 by giving a portion of voters to precinct Kennesaw 4A, Kennesaw Elementary School, 3155 Jiles Road, Kennesaw GA 30144 and a portion of voters to precinct Kennesaw 5B, Legacy Park Clubhouse, 4201 Legacy Park Circle, Kennesaw GA 30144. The existing precinct Kennesaw 5A, New Beginnings United Methodist Church, will be dissolved.
- A boundary change to precinct Kennesaw 5B, Legacy Park Clubhouse, 4201 Legacy Park Circle, Kennesaw GA 30144 by receiving a portion of voters from existing precinct Kennesaw 5A, New Beginnings United Methodist Church, 2925 Mack Dobbs Road NW, Kennesaw GA 30152. The existing precinct Kennesaw 5B will be renamed Kennesaw 5A.

Public Comment – Deane Bonner and Felecca Taylor spoke. Mr. Drexinger SECONDED. APPROVED 3-0.

Mr. Drexinger moved to authorize boundary changes to precinct Marietta 5A, located at Zion Baptist Church, 165 Lemon Street, Marietta GA 30060, and Marietta 5B, located at Turner Chapel Cathedral, 492 North Marietta Parkway, Marietta GA 30060, in order to more evenly distribute the ballot combinations in each precinct.

Public Comment – Deane Bonner spoke. Mr. Ransbotham SECONDED. APPROVED 3-0.

Mr. Fred Aiken and Mr. Phil Daniell were sworn in by Judge Kelli Wolk as the Legislative Delegation appointees replacing Mr. Ransbotham and Mr. Garcia. Ms. Joyette Holmes was sworn in by Judge Kelli Wolk as Commission Chairman appointee replacing Ms. Smith.

Mr. Gartland moved to add an agenda item electing officers to the Board. Mr. Drexinger SECONDED. APPROVED 5-0.

Election of Officers was opened and Mr. Daniell moved to nominate Mr. Gartland as Chairman, Mr. Drexinger moved to nominate himself as Chairman. Vote was taken and Mr. Gartland was elected. (Mr. Daniell, Mr. Gartland, and Mr. Aiken voted for Mr. Gartland; Mr. Drexinger voted for himself, and Ms. Holmes abstained). Remaining officers elected as follows:

- Vice Chairman Mr. Daniell. Mr. Aiken moved to nominate Mr. Daniell and Mr. Drexinger moved to nominate himself. Vote was taken and Mr. Daniell was elected. (Mr. Daniell, Mr. Gartland, and Mr. Aiken voted for Mr. Daniell; Mr. Drexinger voted for himself, and Ms. Holmes abstained).
- Secretary Mr. Aiken. Mr. Gartland moved to nominate Mr. Aiken and Mr. Drexinger moved to nominate Ms. Holmes. Vote was taken and Mr. Aiken was elected. (Mr. Daniell, Mr. Gartland, and Mr. Aiken voted for Mr. Aiken and Mr. Drexinger and Ms. Holmes voted for Ms. Holmes.)
- Assistant Secretary Ms. Holmes. Mr. Drexinger moved to nominate Ms. Holmes. Vote was taken and Ms. Holmes was elected 5-0.

Ms. Eveler requested the Board's approval to conduct a special election for the City of Marietta on November 5, 2013, and that the Chairman sign the necessary documents. Mr. Gartland moved to approve conducting the special election and the signing of the documents. Mr. Drexinger SECONDED. APPROVED 5-0.

Ms. Eveler requested the Board's approval to conduct the municipal general election for the City of Austell on November 5, 2013, and that the Chairman sign the necessary documents. Mr. Daniell moved to approve conducting the municipal general election and the signing of the documents. Mr. Drexinger SECONDED. APPROVED 5-0.

Chairman Gartland set the next regular meeting for September 9, 2013, at 4:00 pm.

Mr. Drexinger moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:51 pm. Mr. Aiken SECONDED. APPROVED 5-0.