UNITED NATIONS COMMON SYSTEM

BACKGROUND

- The system comprises the United Nations, its affiliated programmes, thirteen specialized agencies, and one organization with a special status. The World Bank Group and the International Monetary Fund (also known as the Bretton Woods institutions) are not part of the common system. Twenty-eight (28) organizations in total participate in the Common System.
- Additional organizations (e.g. the Organization of American States (OAS)), while not affiliated with the United Nations, follow some or all of the UN Common System policies and standards.
- <u>https://icsc.un.org/Home/CommonSystem</u>
- Each of the organizations has its own 'Board of Directors' as well as its own authorities/responsibilities to provide administrative support/functions – e.g. Finance, Payroll, Human Resources, Procurement, IT, etc.