

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 27, 2021 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regular meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Commission) was held on October 27, 2021. Teleconference via Zoom in San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chair Hon. Pam Foley called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. A quorum of 14 was established.

Members in attendance were:

Municipality City of Compbell	Representative Hon. Susan M. Landry	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell City of Cupertino	Hon. Hung Wei	
City of Cupertino City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz	
City of Los Altos		
,	Hon. Lynette Lee Eng	Han Matthaw Hudaa
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Matthew Hudes
City of Milpitas	Hon. Carmen Montano	
City of Monte Sereno	Hon. Liz Lawler	
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lucas Ramirez	
City of San José	Hon. Pam Foley	
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Karen Hardy*	
City of Saratoga		
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Omar Din	
Santa Clara Valley Open Space		Hon. Helen Chapman
Authority		
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space	Hon. Jed Cyr	
District		

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	Representative	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell		Hon. Sergio Lopez
City of Cupertino		Hon. Jon Willey
City of Gilroy		•
City of Los Altos		Hon. Anita Enander
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Lisa Schmidt	
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Maria Ristow	
City of Monte Sereno		Hon. Bryan Mekechuk
City of Morgan Hill		Hon. Yvonne Martinez Beltran
City of Mountain View		Hon. Alison Hicks
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Greg Tanaka	
City of San José		Kerrie Romanow
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar	Hon. Tina Walia
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Mason Fong
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	Hon. Cindy Chavez
Midpeninsula Regional Open		Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto
Space District		
Santa Clara Valley Open Space	Hon. Mike Flaugher	
Authority		

^{*} Commission Member logged on at time stated.

Board members in attendance were: Director Tony Estremera (Board Representative), Director Nai Hsueh (Board Alternate), and Director Gary Kremen (Board Representative).

Staff members in attendance were: Aaron Baker, Neeta Bijoor, Glenna Brambill, Vincent Gin, Andy Gschwind, Cindy Kao, Carlos Orellana, Metra Richert, Don Rocha, Gregory Williams, and Beckie Zisser.

Guests in attendance were: Lisa Bilir (City of Palo Alto), Camryn Heinkel (City of San José), Mansour Nasser (City of Sunnyvale), Tony Ndah (City of Milpitas), Hon. Fred Tovar (City of Gilroy), David Siddiqui (Green Evolution), Hon. Kathy Watanabe and Gary Welling (City of Santa Clara).

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Carmen Montano, seconded by Hon. Omar Din, and by roll call and unanimous vote to approve the July 28, 2021, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes with correction of Town of Monte Sereno to City of..

^{*}Hon. Karen Hardy logged on at 12:05 p.m.

4. ACTION ITEMS:

4.1 UPDATE ON PROGRESS TOWARDS VALLEY WATER'S DROUGHT EMERGENCY RESPONSE AND DROUGHT-RELATED WATER CONSERVATION EFFORTS

Mr. Aaron Baker, Ms. Neeta Bijoor, Mr. Don Rocha, and Mr. David Siddiqui reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item along with the handout.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission discussed the following: drought summit was informational, school districts, gray water, keeping costs down, purple piping, recycled water, drought tolerant plants, landscaping, artificial turf, messaging on the drought needs to be ongoing, and having rainwater/stormwater fact sheets available.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission took no action.

Water Commission Chair Hon. Pam Foley thanked Mr. Aaron Baker and Director Linda J. LeZotte for participating in her Town Hall meeting on the drought.

4.2 REVIEW FY2022 BOARD WORK PLAN

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission discussed the following: water supply, Urban Water Management Plan, forecasting growth of cities, RHNA numbers, permanent conservation, long-term messaging for residents and the same language that can be understood by all.

Board Chair Director Tony Estremera, Mr. Aaron Baker, Mr. Vincent Gin, and Director Nai Hsueh were available to answer questions.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission took no action.

4.3 REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission took no action.

5. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no action items.

6. REPORTS

6.1 Director's Report

None.

6.2 Manager's Report

None.

6.3 Commission Member Reports

None.

6.4 Informational Link Reports

None.

7. ADJOURNMENT

Commission Chair Hon. Pam Foley adjourned at 1:03 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, January 26, 2022, at 12:00 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Board Committee Liaison
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 1-26-2022